Foundation Year

The Foundation Year offered by Jacobs University is designed for university applicants whose school leaving certificate or academic achievements are insufficient for acceptance by a German university. According to individual learning needs, participants will be prepared for starting their BA studies at Jacobs University within one year: If they successfully conclude their Foundation Year, they will be granted a place for their bachelor program.

Depending on the choice of subject, the participation in selected courses belonging to different bachelor programs is part of the Foundation Year: Up to 45 ECTS points earned in these courses will count for the subsequent bachelor program.

Participants of the Foundation Year Program will be accommodated on campus and thus integrated into the daily university life from their first day onwards.

Structure & Contents

  • Orientation: Students can participate in courses belonging to the fields of Engineering and Computer Sciences, Natural Sciences, Humanities and Social Sciences as well as Economics and Management  in order to find out which study focus is most suitable for them.
  • Preparation: Courses designed to prepare students for academic work are on offer; English and German classes will be added.
  • Qualification: The standardized university entry exam SAT is an integral part of the program. Participants will be prepared for this exam in detail. If required, students can also take an internationally renowned English exam.

All classes will be held in English.

In the course of an individual consultation appointment, each participant will plan his or her personal Foundation Year curriculum.

Services & Fees

The Foundation Year program includes the following services:

  • Support with visa application
  • Airport pick-up
  • Professional academic counselling in order to put together an individual curriculum
  • Orientation week
  • All courses, lectures, seminars
  • SAT-/TOEFL preparation and registration
  • Accommodation in modern single rooms on campus
  • Full board (3 meals per day)
  • Use of sports facilities and media rooms
  • Excursions to European metropolises
  • 24-hour security service on campus
  • Semester ticket for public transportation

The total cost of the Foundation Year Program is € 23,000 per academic year. The fee includes all costs associated with the program, room and board in the residential colleges, excursions to major European cities, and public transportation in Bremen.
For the Foundation Year no scholarships are available.

Application Deadlines:

  • Until 15 June (applicants who need a visa)
  • Until 15 August (applicants who do not need a visa)

Foundation Year

Das Foundation Year der Jacobs University richtet sich an Studienbewerber, deren Schul- bzw. Hochschulabschlüsse nicht ausreichen, um in Deutschland zu einem Hochschulstudium zugelassen zu werden. Je nach persönlichem Lernbedarf werden die Teilnehmer des Programms innerhalb eines Jahres auf ein Bachelorstudium an der Jacobs Univerity vorbereitet: Bei erfolgreichem Abschluss des Foundation Years erhalten sie garantiert einen Studienplatz.

Je nach fachlicher Ausrichtung ist der Besuch von Lehrveranstaltungen ausgewählter Bachelorstudiengänge Teil des Foundation Years: Die in diesen Veranstaltungen erworbenen ECTS-Credits (bis zu 45) können für das anschließende Bachelorstudium angerechnet werden.

Teilnehmer des Foundation Year-Programms wohnen auf dem Universitätscampus und sind so von Anfang an in den Hochschulalltag integriert.

Aufbau & Inhalte

  • Orientierung: Teilnehmer können an Lehrveranstaltungen aus den Bereichen Ingenieurwesen und Informatik, Naturwissenschaften, Gesellschafts- und Sozialwissenschaften sowie Wirtschaftswissenschaften und Management teilnehmen, um herauszufinden, welcher Studienschwerpunkt zu ihnen passt.
  • Vorbereitung: Es werden viele Kurse zur Vorbereitung auf das wissenschaftliche Arbeiten angeboten; hinzu kommen Englisch- und Deutschunterricht.
  • Qualifizierung: Die standardisierte Hochschulzugangsprüfung SAT ist Teil des Programms. Die Teilnehmer werden gründlich darauf vorbereitet. Auch eine international anerkannte Englischprüfung kann auf Wunsch abgelegt werden.

Alle Unterrichtsveranstaltungen werden auf Englisch durchgeführt.

Jeder Teilnehmer plant im Rahmen einer individuellen Beratung sein persönliches Foundation Year-Curriculum.

Leistungen & Gebühren

Das Foundation Year-Programm beinhaltet folgende Leistungen:

  • Unterstützung bei Visumsbeantragung
  • Flughafenabholung
  • Professionelle akademische Beratung zur Zusammenstellung des Curriculums
  • Orientierungswoche
  • Alle Unterrichtsveranstaltungen
  • SAT-/TOEFL-Vorbereitung und -Anmeldung
  • Unterbringung in modernen Einzelzimmern auf dem Campus
  • Komplettverpflegung (3 Mahlzeiten täglich)
  • Benutzung der Sportanlagen und Multimedia-Räume
  • Exkursionen zu europäischen Metropolen
  • 24-Stunden Sicherheitsdienst auf dem Campus
  • Semesterticket für den öffentlichen Nahverkehr

Die Gesamtgebühr für das Foundation Year-Programm beträgt 23.000 € pro akademisches Jahr. Sie beinhaltet alle mit dem Programm verbundenen Kosten, Verpflegung und Unterbringung auf dem Campus, Exkursionen zu bedeutenden europäischen Städten und die Nutzung der öffentlichen Verkehrsmittel in Bremen.
Für das Foundation Year werden keine Stipendien vergeben.

Anmeldefristen:

  • Bis 15. Juni (visumspflichtige Bewerber)
  • Bis  15. August (Bewerber ohne Visumspflicht)