About Jacobs University

Jacobs University in Bremen first opened its doors in the year 2001. As a private, state-accredited university, it offers a Foundation Year, additional pre-degree programs, bachelor, master, and PhD degree programs. Jacobs University emphasizes the high quality of its education by applying innovative curricula, employing highly qualified teaching staff, and guaranteeing the students very intensive counselling. Internationality is in the forefront: Most study programs are taught entirely in English, and young students from more than 100 nations of origin live and learn on the campus of Jacobs University. By so doing, students gain intercultural competencies and convince employers of international job markets due to their interdisciplinary and practically relevant education. Many graduates are now working in leading positions in enterprises operating worldwide.

Excellent International Students

About 1,400 international students are currently studying at Jacobs University. The selection of applicants is merit-based: School achievements and letters of reference are just as important as the results of special standardized entry exams. All applicants that are accepted as Jacobs University students share very good academic performances, high motivation, and intellectual creativity.

Allround Service from the Beginning

Individual consultation is offered in advance to help the students pick the best suitable study program and plan their personal study path: Questions regarding financing, accommodation, and additional framework conditions are covered in detail as well.

Outstanding Quality of Tuition and Active Support

With around 70 professors and guest researchers and more than 210 additional staff members in the field of teaching and research, students receive optimal support: The ratio of the total number of students to the total number of tutors is extraordinarily good in international comparison.

Jacobs University is equipped with state-of-the-art classrooms, modern teaching technology, and several laboratories. In addition, its ample and secure campus is home to residential collegessports facilities, and conference rooms.

The different study programs offered by Jacobs University regularly reach top scores within the highly relevant CHE ranking which evaluates the quality of German universities. And the internationally renowned U-Multirank lists Jacobs University among the leading universities in several categories as well.

During their study programs, Jacobs University students are supported by the Career Services Center with regard to their successful career entry. Individual job counselling, coaching, and workshops as well as company events are offered regularly by Jacobs University. At the Career Fair which takes place in February, Jacobs University students have the opportunity to meet representatives of renowned companies such as Amazon, Facebook or Microsoft and get in touch with the international alumni network right on site. The current graduation rate of Jacobs University amounts to about 90%. All graduates have excellent career prospects both in Germany and abroad.

Tuition and Financial Support

Jacobs University charges tuition. However, it is part of university policy that all applicants who fulfill the necessary preconditions get the chance to study at Jacobs University, despite limited financial resources: Individualized financial aid packages involving grants, scholarships, and tuition deferrals offer a range of possibilities for financial support.

“The student body is great. Actually, Jacobs is probably one of the top universities from which Microsoft hires software engineers in all of Germany.”

Benjamin Mercer, MicrosoftSoftware engineer

“You can expect very clever, talented, enthusiastic and open minded students with very international backgrounds.”

Eva Fetzer, 360 Treasury Systems AGHead of Human Resources

“The students at Jacobs University offer many interesting profiles for us as international employers. We meet a lot of young people who would surely be a good fit for us.”

Frank Seifarth, gizDepartment of Recruiting and Subsequent Placement

Über die Jacobs University

Die Jacobs University in Bremen wurde im Jahr 2001 eröffnet. Als eine private, staatlich anerkannte Universität bietet sie ein Foundation Year, weitere studienvorbereitende Programme, Bachelor-, Master- und PhD-Programme an. Durch den Einsatz innovativer Curricula, die Arbeit hochqualifizierter Lehrkräfte und die intensive Betreuung der Studierenden legt die Jacobs University großen Wert auf hohe Qualität Ihres Bildungsangebotes. Internationalität wird groß geschrieben: Die Unterrichtssprache fast aller Studiengänge ist Englisch; auf dem Campus leben und lernen junge Menschen aus über 100 Nationen gemeinsam. Auf diese Weise erwerben die Absolvierenden der Jacobs University interkulturelle Kompetenzen und überzeugen durch ihre interdisziplinäre und praxisnahe Ausbildung auf dem internationalen Arbeitsmarkt. Zahlreiche Alumni arbeiten in Führungspositionen weltweit operierender Unternehmen.

Exzellente, internationale Studierende

Ca. 1.400 internationale Studierende sind derzeit an der Jacobs University eingeschrieben. Die Auswahl der Bewerber erfolgt leistungsbasiert: Schulische Leistungen und Referenzschreiben werden dabei genauso berücksichtigt wie die Ergebnisse spezieller, standardisierter Zulassungstests. Die zu einem Studium an der Jacobs University zugelassenen Bewerber teilen alle sehr gute Vorleistungen, eine hohe Lernmotivation und intellektuelle Kreativität.

Rundum-Service von Anfang an

Eine ausführliche Beratung vor Studienbeginn hilft den zukünftigen Studierenden, das passende Fach auszuwählen und ihren persönlichen Studienweg zu planen: Auch die Finanzierung des Studiums, die Unterbringung während der Studienzeit und weitere Rahmenfaktoren spielen dabei eine wichtige Rolle.

Herausragende Lehrqualität, aktive Betreuung

Mit rund 70 Professoren und Gastwissenschaftlern sowie über 210 weiteren Mitarbeitern im Bereich Lehre und Forschung werden die Studierenden optimal betreut: Das Verhältnis der Studierendenzahl zur Anzahl der Lehrenden ist im internationalen Vergleich außergewöhnlich gut.

Die Jacobs University ist mit modernsten Unterrichtsräumen und aktueller Vortragstechnik ausgestattet und verfügt über mehrere Laboratorien. Der großzügig gestaltete, sichere Campus beherbergt zudem Wohnstätten, Sportanlagen und Konferenzräume.

Bei dem in Deutschland sehr bedeutenden CHE-Ranking, in dem regelmäßig die Qualität deutscher Universitäten und Fachhochschulen bewertet wird, erzielen die verschiedenen Studiengänge der Jacobs University immer wieder sehr gute Platzierungen.  Und auch das internationale Ranking U-Multirank führt die Jacobs University in mehreren Kategorien unter den führenden Hochschulen auf.

Während des Studiums bekommen die Studierenden der Jacobs University durch das Career Services Center Unterstützung rund um einen erfolgreichen Berufseinstieg. Individuelle Karriereberatung, Coaching und Workshops gehören zum Angebot der Jacobs University genauso dazu wie Firmen-Events. Zum Beispiel können die Studierenden im Rahmen der jährlich im Februar stattfindenden Career Fair mit namhaften Unternehmensvertretern von Amazon, Facebook oder Microsoft in Kontakt treten und sich mit dem internationalen Alumni-Netzwerk vor Ort in Verbindung setzen. Die Absolventenquote der Jacobs University liegt derzeit bei ca. 90 %. Die Absolvierenden haben nach ihrem Studienabschluss hervorragende Jobchancen in Deutschland und im Ausland.

Studienfinanzierung und Fördermöglichkeiten

Ein Studium an der Jacobs University bedarf einer privaten Finanzierung. Es gehört mit zum Hochschulkonzept, dass auch finanzschwächere geeignete Bewerber ihr Wunschstudium aufnehmen können: Die Jacobs University bietet mit ihrem leistungsgebundenen Stipendien- und Darlehenskonzept eine Vielzahl an Fördermöglichkeiten.

„Die Studierenden sind großartig. Jacobs zählt zu einer der Universitäten, deren Softwareingenieure von Microsoft für ganz Deutschland rekrutiert werden.“

Benjamin Mercer, MicrosoftSoftwareingenieur

„Man kann talentierte, clevere, enthusiastische und aufgeschlossene Studierende mit internationalem Hintergrund erwarten.“

Eva Fetzer, 360 Treasury Systems AGLeiterin Personalabteilung

„Die Studierenden der Jacobs University bieten uns als internationalem Arbeitgeber viele interessante Profile an. Wir lernen junge Menschen kennen, die hervorragend zu unserem Unternehmen passen.“

Frank Seifarth, gizDepartment of Recruiting and Subsequent Placement